Please help 32bit "dino"

Hello,

I am a newbie in Qt and Linux just wondering how people ever deployed own written applications out of the IDE to another PC, if its THAT complicate still mission impossible. (I am Windows user - sorry. And yes I still use 32bit Hardware/Software - very seldom 64bit but more often than 16bit :slight_smile:

I managed to use your great linuxdeployqt (without any appimage - I rather make simple apps) in a 64bit Linux Mint 19.2 (Qt 5.13.2, g++ 7.30 as I remember).
But NOT on 32bit Linux Mint 19. I only found Qt Creator 5.5, g++ dont know?
I downloaded your source and compiled with the IDE. Program start: Tells me about my any GLBC library is too new. So what can I do???
Change Qt? Which version? Change g++ From where (I simply installed by apt-get). Change whole Linux Mint? Which version?
Do you know any help???
I just had the idea to search for the error-message :slight_smile: but sorry I am a newbie.
I also could build a similar Folder-structure and a program.sh as in the proposal. BUT unfortunately linuxdeploy seems to not only copy the .SO but also changes in size?! Hey thats too hard for a newbie!
Cannot I copy the versions provided by the Qt/gcc folders?

To make clear - I dont build complicate Apps - simple console oder gui only. And as I am a windows
people, I am not interested in 100 ways to deploy or the best excellent way to do.
But NO WAY deploy??? Really?

Thanks in advance and sorry for my Englisch

Hi, please build your application on the oldest stil-supported Ubuntu LTS release, which is xenial at this time.

If you try to build on a system that is newer than it (e.g., Linux Mint 19.2) then the binaries compiled there will not be able to run on all still-supported releases of Ubuntu. linuxdeployqt refuses to run in this situation, so that application developers build on a distribution not newer than the oldest stil-supported Ubuntu LTS release, for best compatibility of your binaries.