Hello World Example?

Dear all,

I am completely new to building packages.

I would like to create a universally installable package for two simple python scripts and include some .png icons.

Does someone have a simple Hello World example that I can use as a simple basis to create my package?

Yours,

Robert

If all you want to do is install scripts and some icons then you can do that with a separate script. AppImages are great but might be a bit overkill for what it sounds like you are wanting to deploy.

Dear Michael,

Thank you!

What do you mean by a separate script?

I still like the idea to package those simple scripts to make it easier for
absolute Linux beginners to use them.

Yours,

Robert

With AppImage you can bundle even more complex Python applications. For example, the Cura application is using Python and PyQt, and is completely self-standing.

The key is to bundle Python, the Python libraries, and your virtual Python environment inside the AppImage.

https://github.com/probonopd/AppImageKit/wiki/Bundling-Python-apps should get you started. Please feel free to ask here if you get stuck; ideally with your sample application.

If you like, I can write a tiny “hello world” example bundling Python and a Python script inside an AppImage.

2 Likes

Dear @probono,

I appreciate your help!

I actually set up a Github repository that contains the scripts to give you
a better idea of what I am trying to package:

Yours,

Robert

Hello @orschiro, this .yml should do the trick:

app: dslli

ingredients:
  dist: trusty
  sources: 
    - deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty main universe
  packages:
    - python3-minimal
  script:
    - wget -c https://github.com/orschiro/dslli/archive/master.zip
    - unzip master.zip

script:
  - cat > dslli.desktop <<EOF
  - [Desktop Entry]
  - Type=Application
  - Name=dslli
  - Icon=dslli
  - Exec=dslli
  - Categories=Utility;
  - EOF
  - cp ../dslli-master/* usr/bin/